Pay TV 2013: Top 50 non-sport shows

2013-12-19_2134ASTRA has released data that reveals that outside of Sport, LifeStyle shows dominated the Pay TV sector in 2013.

Around two-thirds of the highest rating non-sport programs were Australian made.

The most popular non-sport programs of 2013 included Selling Houses Australia, Oprah Winfrey’s interview with cyclist Lance Armstrong, Grand Designs Australia, The Walking Dead, Location Location Location Australia, Australia’s Next Top Model, River Cottage Australia and the movies Men in Black 3, Skyfall, The Avengers and Teen Beach Movie.

“Australians love local content, and in 2013 they have used their remote controls to vote overwhelmingly for locally produced content,” ASTRA Chief Executive Officer, Andrew Maiden, said.

“In 2012/13 the subscription television industry responded by investing $700 million in local television productions, creating 6600 Australian jobs and adding $1.6 billion to the local economy.

“Politics truly became a spectator sport in 2013, with Kevin Rudd’s successful challenge against Julia Gillard in June pulling three of the year’s highest-rating non-sport hours on SKY NEWS.

“Unlike free-to-air networks which must attract advertisers to mass audiences watching a single program, the business model for subscription television is based on aggregating subscribers across scores of targeted channels.”

2013 Top Non-Sport Programs

Program

Channel

Date

Time

 Avg. Audience

SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 13 March 2013

20:30 – 21:31               241,561
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 3 April 2013

20:30 – 21:31               237,840
MEN IN BLACK 3Foxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 27 January 2013

20:30 – 22:19               225,202
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 27 March 2013

20:30 – 21:30               217,450
GRAND DESIGNS AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 28 November 2013

20:30 – 21:34               217,102
OPRAH WINFREY AND LANCE ARMSTRONGDiscovery Channel

Friday, 18 January 2013

13:00 – 14:29               216,856
AUSTRALIA’S NEXT TOP MODELFOX8

Tuesday, 13 August 2013

19:30 – 20:33               216,429
SKYFALLFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 14 July 2013

20:30 – 22:59               216,268
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 10 April 2013

20:30 – 21:34               214,140
THE AVENGERSFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 31 March 2013

20:30 – 22:59               209,879
GRAND DESIGNS AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 24 October 2013

20:30 – 21:32               208,913
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 27 February 2013

20:30 – 21:33               208,121
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 6 February 2013

20:30 – 21:30               207,583
PAUL MURRAY LIVESKY NEWS

Wednesday, 26 June 2013

22:00 – 22:59               206,743
GRAND DESIGNS AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 5 December 2013

20:30 – 21:33               205,780
BATTLESHIPFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 10 February 2013

20:30 – 22:44               203,964
TOTAL RECALLFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 5 May 2013

20:30 – 22:29               202,525
MADAGASCAR 3: EUROPE’S MOST WANTEDFoxtel Movies Family

Saturday, 20 July 2013

18:30 – 20:04               200,459
DCOM: TEEN BEACH MOVIEDisney Channel

Friday, 9 August 2013

19:00 – 20:44               198,572
THE WALKING DEADFX

Tuesday, 5 March 2013

20:30 – 21:24               194,831
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 13 February 2013

20:30 – 21:31               194,623
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 20 February 2013

20:30 – 21:33               191,428
JACK REACHERFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 1 December 2013

20:30 – 22:44               189,196
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 2 October 2013

20:29 – 21:32               189,016
PAUL MURRAY LIVESKY NEWS

Wednesday, 26 June 2013

21:00 – 21:59               188,372
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 20 March 2013

20:30 – 21:30               188,185
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 4 September 2013

20:30 – 21:32               187,004
GRAND DESIGNS AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 14 November 2013

20:30 – 21:33               185,980
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 16 October 2013

20:30 – 21:31               183,276
SELLING HOUSES AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 6 March 2013

20:30 – 21:32               181,781
THE WALKING DEADFX

Tuesday, 26 February 2013

20:30 – 21:23               181,098
GRAND DESIGNS AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 7 November 2013

20:30 – 21:33               179,415
THE WALKING DEADFX

Tuesday, 2 April 2013

20:32 – 21:29               178,879
WRECK-IT RALPHFoxtel Movies Family

Saturday, 28 September 2013

18:30 – 20:14               178,141
AUSTRALIA’S NEXT TOP MODELFOX8

Tuesday, 17 September 2013

19:30 – 20:35               176,353
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 30 October 2013

20:30 – 21:31               176,169
THE WALKING DEADFX

Tuesday, 26 March 2013

20:30 – 21:28               175,993
THE WALKING DEADFX

Tuesday, 19 February 2013

20:30 – 21:20               174,857
THE WALKING DEADFX

Tuesday, 12 February 2013

20:30 – 21:25               174,349
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 18 September 2013

20:30 – 21:31               173,754
AUSTRALIA’S NEXT TOP MODELFOX8

Tuesday, 10 September 2013

19:30 – 20:36               173,570
THE BOURNE LEGACYFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 23 June 2013

20:30 – 22:49               172,869
TEDFoxtel Movies Premiere

Sunday, 26 May 2013

20:30 – 22:19               172,737
BREAKING NEWS: LABOR LEADERSHIPSKY NEWS

Wednesday, 26 June 2013

20:00 – 20:59               171,059
GRAND DESIGNS AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 10 October 2013

20:30 – 21:34               170,476
WRECK-IT RALPHFoxtel Movies Family

Saturday, 28 September 2013

18:30 – 20:14               169,861
RIVER COTTAGE AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Thursday, 4 July 2013

20:30 – 21:29               168,684
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 11 September 2013

20:30 – 21:30               168,005
LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION AUSTRALIALifeStyle

Wednesday, 9 October 2013

20:30 – 21:31               167,310
CHICAGO FIREFOX8

Thursday, 31 January 2013

20:30 – 21:25               165,831
Source: OzTAM National Panel, Weeks 1-49 2013, S-S 0200-0200, Projections, consolidated to 08/12/2013.

 

4 Comments:

  1. They are forced to spend 10% of their programming budget on Australian/NZ content. And ASTRA fought against that!

    As for the economic multipliers they are just made up and usually overstate things by 2-3 times.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.